International bodies National monitoring bodies (II)

Albania Albania People’s Advocate

Armenia Human Rights Defender

Austria Austrian Ombudsman Board

Bulgaria Ombudsman of the Republic of Bulgaria

Croatia Croatian's People Ombudsmen

Cyprus Commissioner of Administration/Ombudsman

Czech Republic Public Defender of Rights

Denmark The Danish Parliamentary Ombudsman

Estonia Office of the Chancellor of Justice

Finland Parliamentary Ombudsperson’s Office

France Contrôleur Général des lieux de privation de liberté

Georgia Office of the Public Defender

Germany The Federal Agency for the Prevention of Torture

Greece Greek Ombudsman

Ireland Office of the Inspector of Prisons

Italy Garante nazionale

Kazakhstan Commissioner for Human Rights

Kyrgyzstan National Center for the Prevention of Torture

Liechtenstein Corrections Commission

Lithuania Seimas Ombudsmen's Office

Luxembourg Ombudsperson’s Office

Moldova Centre for Human Rights

Montenegro Protector of Human Rights and Freedoms,

Netherlands Inspectie Veiligheid en Justitie

Kenniscentrum Commissies van Toezicht

Raad voor Strafrechtstoepassing en jeugdbescherming

College voor de Rechten van de Mens

Norway Parliamentary Ombudsman for Public Administration

Poland Commissioner for Human Rights

Portugal Ombudsperson’s Office

Romania The People’s Advocate

Slovenia Human Rights Ombudsman

Spain El Defensor del Pueblo

Sweden Parliamentary Ombudsman

Switzerland Commission nationale de prévention de la torture

Ukraine Parliamentary Commissioner for Human Rights

United Kingdom

Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Prisons for England and Wales

Independent Monitoring Board


New Zealand Human Rights Commission

South America

Brazil National System to Prevent and Combat Torture

Chile National Human Rights Institute

Costa Rica Ombudsperson’s Office

Honduras National Committee for the Prevention Against Torture

Paraguay NMP

Peru Ombudspersons’ Office








































































































UN Subcommittee on the Prevention of Torture (SPT)

UN Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment

UN Committee Against Torture

UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture

UN Special Rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions

National Preventive Mechanisms (NPMs)


Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT)

World Organisation Against Torture

International Rehabilitation Council for Torture Victims


Inter-American Court of Human Rights

European Court of Human Rights

Regional Organisations

African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights

Special Rapporteur on Prisons and Conditions of Detention

Council of Europe’s Committee for the

Prevention of Torture (CPT)


Mali National Human Rights Institution

Mauritius National Human Rights Commission

Mozambique human-rights-commission-mozambique

Senegal National Observer of Places of Deprivation of Liberty


Azerbaijan The Commissioner for Human Rights

Maldives National Human Rights Commission

Central America

Costa Rica Defensoria de los Habitantes

Honduras National Committee for the Prevention of Torture

Mexico Comisión Nacional de los Derechos Humanos

National monitoring bodies (I)

























































Togo Commission Nationale des Droits de l'Homme

National Human Rights Commission